A look into the life of an intern

Intern Mona Spitzer shares her experiences being an exchange student, and an intern at the GACC South

It’s not good, it’s not bad, it’s just different…And I like it! This has been my experience while living in another country for one year.

I am a German participating in the 26th Congress Bundestag Youth Exchange (CBYX). The program has given me the chance to experience the American way of life while living with a host family and attending a local university for a semester. The CBYX program offers a scholarship that pays for flight expenses to and from the USA, university tuition, and a host family in the first half of the year. The program is designed to strengthen ties between the young generations of Germany and the United States. As well as improving career skills through formal study and work experience, we participants expand our perspectives and awareness of each other’s culture, society, history and politics. And, in addition to that, you learn a lot about yourself!

I started working as an intern at the GACC a month ago. On the very first day of my internship, I found out that the Transatlantic Mobility and Energy (e-Mobility) Conference will soon take place here in Atlanta and that this is one of the projects I would be working on. As the days went by, I gathered more information about clean technology and renewable energy and even began looking into the current “green” developments in the automotive industry. I prepared mailings and researched companies that might be interested in attending this conference. I also learned more and more about the purpose of this event.

I think it’s a great idea to bring together representatives of both Germany and the United States in order to share ideas and experiences, discuss current technology trends, and advancements in the fields of mobility and energy, such as hybrid or electric cars—all with a single objective: promoting the efficient and sustainable use of clean technology to generate energy. I am thrilled to have had the opportunity to be part of this great event, and I look forward to June 3rd.

Post written by Mona Spitzer

What do you think?

