Being an intern at the GACC South

Post written by Jennifer Rothman

Hello, my name is Jennifer Rothman and I am the newest member of the GACC South team. Being a part of a multicultural team that would facilitate the development of my German language skills has been a personal goal of mine since my initial decision to study International Business. The thought that I would find myself on such a team, a short three months post graduation, was something for which I could have only hoped!

As a first generation American, I always knew that I wanted to be in an international environment.  My family originates from Cape Town, South Africa, where I spent seven years of my childhood.  Bilingual parents gave me an early appreciation of foreign languages and a curiosity regarding the people and places of the world. My love of everything German started in the summer of 2009 when I visited both Köln and München while backpacking. I returned to the States with the goal of returning to Europe for an exchange year to learn both German and gain international experience. I spent the academic year of 2010-2011 in Graz Österreich. Now I know that to most Germans Österreiches Deutsch is not German, but none-the-less I returned home with an intermediate level German speaking certificate. Shortly thereafter,  I completed my studies at Kennesaw State University and feel incredibly lucky to be interning at the GACC South.

Every day at the GACC South, I find myself both challenged and in a constant state of learning. As part of the U.S. Business Representation Services team, I work with 41 different German companies. Familiarizing myself with each company and learning each one’s unique procedures has been a daily task. The care with which my team treats the companies they represent and their corresponding customers is paramount.  I am so very proud and excited to be a part of the GACC South team.

One thought on “Being an intern at the GACC South

What do you think?

